Follow us on

WMHA Awards Night and Nominations

It is that time of year again to make your selections for the WMHA Team and Volunteer Award Nominations. Click the links below to the google form to complete your nominations. 
Team Award Nominations are for all teams in the U13 - U18 divisions, including all AA teams. ONLY 1 COACH OR MANAGER should complete the Team Award form for your team
Volunteer Award Nominations are open to all teams/parents from U5 - U18 to nominate a deserving person for the following awards: 
  • Coach of the Year
  • Manager of the Year
  • Debbie Quick Memorial Volunteer of the Year
  • 10 Year Builder Award
The annual WMHA Awards Night will be held on Monday, April 17th, at the Brian King Centre. Further details on this event will be communicated later, but we encourage all teams (U13 - U18) to attend and save the date in your Teamlinkt account. 
As always, we do not encourage CO-AWARD winners for team awards. We understand there may be tough decisions to make on the right choice for the award, but please do your best only to select 1 player per award. Also, please consider spreading out your awards to numerous players. While your TOP FORWARD or DEFENSE might be your MVP - please try to choose different players for different awards. 

Award Descriptions

Warman Minor Hockey has five awards to be selected based on nominations from its membership.  It is imperative that members recognize the efforts of their team’s leaders, and submit a nomination form for any one of the following positions: 
1. Coach of the Year*:  Awarded to a coach each year that goes beyond the call of duty for his team, provides their team with a good role model and mentor and excels in teaching their players the skills and attitudes of a good athlete.  This coach exemplifies WMHA Players Development Model and philosophies. 

2. Manager of the Year*:  Given to a Manager that goes above and beyond their duties to provide leadership and organization to their team as well as be a vital communication link between the coaches and the parents

3. Debbie Quick Memorial Volunteer of the Year:  Awarded to a member that goes over and above the norm in volunteering their time for the betterment of the game.  Debbie exemplified this by not only dedicating her time to managing her children’s teams she also was a long-time member of the WMHA Executive in the role of treasurer. Even after her children stopped playing hockey she continued on in her role as treasurer until her passing.

4. 10-Year Builder Award:  Awarded to a person who has made a long term, positive contribution to the growth and development of Warman Minor Hockey and its membership 
* Coach and Manager of the Year selection will be based on a combination of member nomination and executive input.  Each Division Administrator will nominate one candidate from their age division along with a detailed rationale based on aspects such as alignment to WMHA’s Player Development Model (advanced level practices, bench management, communication with parents and players,  31  organizational skills, etc), WMHA policy, observed interaction with players and parents as well as feedback from peers within their division.  The entire executive will review all nominated candidates to determine the award winners. 

As selected by the Referee-in-Chief, the following individual awards will be given to those WMHA Referees that have shown tremendous growth and dedication throughout the season:
1. Referee of the Year 
2. Jr. Referee of the Year 
3. Most Dedicated Referee 
4. Most Improved Referee

Within the U13 through U18 age divisions, each team will recognize a member of its team for the following awards: 
1. Most Improved:  Given to a player that has demonstrated the largest increase in skill development and teamwork over the course of the season

2. Most Dedicated:  Given to a player that demonstrates a great work ethic and commitment to the team, in all games, practices and team activities

3. Most Sportsmanlike:  Given to a player that plays the game hard and displays characteristics of fairness and respect, within the boundary of the games rules

4. Top Defenceman:  Given to a player that demonstrates the greatest all around ability at the position

5. Top Forward:  Given to the player that demonstrates the greatest all around ability at the position

6. Most Valuable Player:  Given to a player that continually contributes to his/her teams successes and is counted on to deliver when needed most  

In addition to the above, the following individual award is given to the player that has established themselves as the most influential role model for the Peewee AA Wildcats – The Tyler Gidluck Memorial Award – this award is awarded to a Peewee age player preferably playing on an AA team who exemplifies the qualities that Tyler displayed as a player in his tragically shortened life.  Tyler was a skilled hockey player who was always positive and who always came to the rink giving 120%.  He was never the most skilled player however his heart continually earned him the respect of his teammates and coaches.  Tyler unfortunately was taken from this world in the summer following his final year of Peewee.  His family has been honoring a player in the Warman AA system since that time. 

In addition to the above, the following individual award is given to the player that has established themselves as a leader in the Midget Division – The Austyn Schenstead Memorial Award – this award is presented to the Midget Wildcat who demonstrates leadership with mischievous humor, gritty determination, passionate energy, and who strives to do their very best.  This is best illustrated by the way Austyn lived; with a passionate love for family and friends, respect for his Coaches and Teammates expressed though the care and consideration he demonstrated for other.  Austyn experienced much successes as a Wildcat, however made a positive impact and found real joy in helping others experience success.  This award recognizes these qualities of character, as demonstrated by the annual recipient.